Follow us on facebook
Follow us on twitter


British Cycling National Road Race Championships Glasgow, 20 - 23 June 2013
0141 287 8080


History of Road Racing 

The National Road Race and Time Trial ​Championships is the highlight of the elite Road racing calendar in the UK and is fiercely contested by the country’s top professional riders and teams.
The first British National Road Race Championship of the modern era took place in 1959 and over the years some of the great names of the sport have graced the winners’ podium. Until 1996 the men’s championship was divided into amateur and professional categories.
Over the years, some of cycling’s most successful names have topped the podium at the National Championships with Tour de France winners, Olympic medallists, Tour de France stage winners and World Champions. In 2011 the championships found possibly its most star studded podium to date with 5 out of the 6 medallists also having won Olympic medals and World Championships over the course of their careers.
Below are the past winner of the Time Trial and the National Road Race since 2000.
Time Trial Champions since 2000
Date ​Men ​Women
​2012 ​Alex Dowsett ​Wendy Houvenaghel
​2011 ​Alex Dowsett ​Wendy Houvenaghel
​2010 Sir Bradley Wiggins ​Emma Pooley
​2009 Sir Bradley Wiggins ​Emma Pooley
​2008 ​Michael Hutchinson ​Sharon Laws
​2007 ​David Millar ​Wendy Houvenaghel
​2006 ​Jason MacIntyre ​Rebecca Romero
​Stuart Dangerfield ​Julia Shaw
​2004 ​Michael Hutchinson ​Frances Newstead
​2003 Stuart Dangerfield ​Wendy Houvenaghel
​2002 ​Michael Hutchinson ​Frances Newstead
​2001 ​Stuart Dangerfield ​Yvonne McGregor
​2000 ​Chris Newton  ​Ceris Gilfillan
National Road Race Champions since 2000
Date ​Men ​Women
​2012 ​Ian Stannard ​Sharon Laws
​2011 ​Sir ​Bradley Wiggins ​Lizzie Armitstead
​2010 ​Geraint Thomas ​Emma Pooley
​2009 ​Kristian House ​Nicole Cooke
​2008 ​Rob Hayles ​Nicole Cooke
​2007 ​David Millar ​Nicole Cooke
​2006 ​Hamish Haynes ​Nicole Cooke


​Russell Downing ​Nicole Cooke
​2004 ​Roger Hammond ​Nicole Cooke
​2003 ​Roger Hammond ​Nicole Cooke
​2002 ​Julian Winn ​Nicole Cooke
​2001 ​Jeremy Hunt ​Nicole Cooke
​2000 ​John Tanner ​Ceris Gilfillan
Glasgow Life Logo