Awards and Prizes

We are currently redeveloping our website.

You may experience some changes as a result.

Can't find the information you need? Please contact us.


Awards and Prizes

Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction

Book Prizes in Glasgow Libraries

Carnegie and Greenaway Children's Book Awards

The oldest UK children's book award, the Carnegie and Greenaway children's book awards are voted for by a panel of librarians with the Carnegie Medal going to the  'most outstanding children's book' of the year.

Find out more.

The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. 

Find out more.

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

Formerly the Orange Prize and launched in 1996, the Baileys Women's prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing from throughout the world.

Find out more.

Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards started life in 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards. They became the Whitbread Book Awards in 1985 and then changed their name again in 2006, when Costa took over. 

It's unique in having five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book. 

Find out more.

Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year 

The Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year award was established in 1982 and is open to authors of Scottish descent or living in Scotland, or for a book by anyone which deals with a Scottish topic.  


Find out more




Glasgow Life Logo