This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2018/19: Afternoon Performance 5 - Beethoven’s Fourth

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Afternoon Performance 5 - Beethoven’s Fourth


Book tickets

£12.00 in advance (£14.00 on day)
Open to All
Please note that the Glasgow Life Box Office charges a fee of £1.50 on all telephone bookings and £1.00 on all online bookings. There will be a £1.00 charge if you wish your tickets posted to you.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 21 March 2019
2:00PM - 4:00PM

“Composing is all about creating a utopia that I would like to live in” says Dai Fujikura - “a whole world, not just colour, or scenery, but I hope to stimulate every sense you can imagine”. He’d have got along well with Beethoven, who said that he wanted to “press out a glorious wine to intoxicate all humanity” – and in his joyous, headstrong Fourth Symphony he comes thrillingly close. It’ll feel like a celebration, coming after the exquisitely-imagined soundworld of Fujikura’s new piano concerto (played by the pianist who inspired it), and the haunting, powerfully evocative Meditation by Toshio Hosokawa, directed by the conductor who gave its premiere just twelve months after the tragedy it commemorates.

Toshio Hosokawa
Meditation to the victims of the Tsunami, March 2011

Dai Fujikura
Impulse - Piano Concerto No.3 (UK Premiere)

Symphony No.4

Yu Kosuge piano
Alexander Liebreich conductor


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open tomorrow 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information