This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2018/19: Afternoon Performance 7 - Elgar Symphony No.1

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Afternoon Performance 7 - Elgar Symphony No.1


Book tickets

£12.00 in advance (£14.00 on day)
Open to All
Please note that the Glasgow Life Box Office charges a fee of £1.50 on all telephone bookings and £1.00 on all online bookings. There will be a £1.00 charge if you wish your tickets posted to you.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 16 May 2019
2:00PM - 4:00PM

Elgar wouldn’t say if his First Symphony told a story – merely that “it expressed a wide experience of human life with a great charity (love) and a massive hope in the future”. But the British public knew a masterpiece when they heard one, and when it was premiered in 1908, the audience leapt to its feet and cheered. Thomas Dausgaard brings a uniquely fresh approach to a late-Romantic epic like no other, paired here today with Bartók’s vivid musical postcards from Transylvania, and the poetry, tenderness and heart-on-sleeve romance of the Piano Concerto by Robert Schumann. There’s a good reason why pianist Elisabeth Leonskaja is revered by her fellow musicians: and you’re about to hear it.

Hungarian Sketches

Piano Concerto

Symphony No.1

Elisabeth Leonskaja piano
Thomas Dausgaard conductor


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information