This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

RSNO 2018/19 - Season Opener - Søndergård Conducts Mahler Five

Home What's on

RSNO 2018/19 - Season Opener - Søndergård Conducts Mahler Five


Book tickets

£38.00, £29.50, £24.00, £18.00 and £13.00
Open to All
A transaction fee of £1 is charged for online bookings and £1.50 for phone bookings. Postage, where applicable, is charged at £1.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Saturday 6 October 2018
7:30PM - 10:30PM

Søndergård Conducts Mahler Five

Lotta Wennäkoski

Flounce Scottish premiere


Piano Concerto No2


Symphony No5

Thomas Søndergård CONDUCTOR

Francesco Piemontesi PIANO

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

‘A symphony must be like the world,’ declared Gustav Mahler. ‘It must embrace everything!’ So what better way for Thomas Søndergård to make his entrance as the RSNO’s new Music Director than by plunging headlong into Mahler’s Fifth Symphony: a sweeping romantic drama of life, death and – of course – love? Superstar pianist Francesco Piemontesi plays Beethoven’s brightest concerto, and a musical firecracker from Finnish composer Lotta Wennäkoski lights the touchpaper. Come and join the celebration!

Subscriptions on sale from Wednesday 14 March 2018. RSNO Circle members can priority book single tickets from Monday 23 April 2018. Single tickets on general sale from Wednesday 2 May 2018. 


Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

2 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3NY

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information