This is our new work-in-progress site.


This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

SCO 18/19: Brilliance of the Baroque with Richard Egarr

Home What's on

SCO 18/19: Brilliance of the Baroque with Richard Egarr


Book tickets

£31.00, £27.00, £22.00 and £17.00
Open to All
Booking fees applicable.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Friday 8 March 2019
7:30PM - 10:30PM

Priority booking for the 2018/19 Concert Season is now open for SCO subscribers (4 or more concerts).  

General Onsale 10th May 2018.

PURCELL Music from The Fairy Queen (40’)
HANDEL Concerto Grosso
Op 3 No 1 in B-flat (10’)
HANDEL Arias from Semele: Oh, Jove in pity; Oh sleep; Myself I shall adore (15’)
HANDEL Music for the Royal Fireworks (20’)

RICHARD EGARR Conductor / Harpsichord       
CAROLYN SAMPSON Soprano            

Described as a conductor “full of fizzy finesse”, Richard Egarr presents a celebration of Handel and Purcell.  There’s a riot of colour in Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworks and in his Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 1, and exquisitely beautiful arias from his humorous musical drama Semele, delivered by the dazzling soprano Carolyn Sampson.

Purcell’s glimmering suite from the opera The Fairy Queen draws inspiration from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a bewitching tale celebrating the wonder and joy of love in all its forms. Purcell conjures up an enchanted world where the magical forces of nature reign supreme.


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open tomorrow 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information