This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Coronavirus (Covid-19) – Latest Information

Coronavirus - Latest Information
Scottish Chamber Orchestra: Shostakovich 14

Scottish Chamber Orchestra: Shostakovich 14

Scottish Chamber Orchestra: Shostakovich 14

Tickets Glasgow

Book tickets

Payment required
Book here

Dates and times

Friday 5 November 2021
7:30PM - 10:00PM

On general sale - 12pm, Wednesday 18 August 2021

Shostakovich 14

Mozart Symphony in D Major, after Serenade K. 320 'Posthorn'

Shostakovich Symphony No 14

Mark Wigglesworth Conductor

Elizabeth Atherton Soprano

Peter Rose Bass

“I want listeners to this symphony to realise that life is truly beautiful. My symphony is an impassioned protest against death, a reminder to the living that they should live honestly, conscientiously, nobly, never committing a base act.” Dmitri Shostakovich

In intimate settings of poetry by Lorca, Apollinaire and Rilke, Shostakovich’s penultimate symphony stares unflinchingly at humankind’s most devastating subject: death. Uncompromising and blisteringly powerful, it’s also a timely celebration of the preciousness of life – and offers deep catharsis and consolation amid the losses of our own troubled times.

Conductor Mark Wigglesworth is renowned worldwide for his brilliant, penetrating visions of Shostakovich’s music, and is joined by two of the UK’s finest vocal soloists. By way of complete contrast, he begins his concert with the celebratory energy of the brief but stirring Symphony that Mozart drew from his ‘Posthorn’ Serenade.

Venue notice

Please be aware that scaffolding is in place around the exterior of the building due to essential maintenance. However, the main entrance to City Halls remains accessible for customers.

Venue Map


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

More venue information