This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Coronavirus (Covid-19) – Latest Information

Coronavirus - Latest Information

Glasgow Code Learning: Developer

Glasgow Code Learning: Developer

Glasgow Code Learning: Developer (SCQF Level 5)

Application Form

What is Developer?

Developer is our intermediate level. It offers FREE 6 week introductory courses for those with no or limited experience who are keen to develop Web Design, Software Development, or Cyber Security skills.

If you complete a Developer course, you’ll be awarded an SQA National Progression Award (NPA) at SCQF Level 5 or 6.

What will I study?

Web Design (Level 5)

This course is an entry level introduction to designing and creating websites, for those with little-to-no previous experience. It is designed as a springboard for future web designers and developers. It consists of three units:

  • Computing: Website Design and Development – focuses on HTML and CSS. You will analyse a brief, identifying the purpose and audience of the website, before designing and developing your website. You will then test and evaluate it.
  • Computing: Website Graphics – focuses on the main technical aspects of producing graphics for websites. You will learn about the different graphical file formats, the appropriate use of each, and how to optimise graphics for quality and performance.
  • Computing: Interactive Multimedia – building on your knowledge and experience of building websites using HTML and CSS, this unit will help you add interactivity to websites using client-side script, as well as understand the usability issues web designers face when trying to bring a website to life.

Software Development (Level 6) 

This course focuses on computer programming and has been developed to introduce you to coding. It consists of three units:

  • Software Design and Development – introduces the basic concepts of designing, developing and testing software.
  • Computing: Applications Development – focuses on developing general application software. You will learn how to design and create apps using a development environment. You will learn some basic programming skills and constructs like variables, loops, and functions. In the process you will develop your programming, problem solving and computational thinking skills, as well as a knowledge and understanding of design concepts. You will also develop knowledge and understanding of the different methodologies and approaches for testing and evaluation by testing your app and critically evaluating it.
  • Computing: Authoring a Website – introduces the concepts required to develop software as part of a website. You will be introduced to HTML and CSS and learn how to use web authoring tools to plan and develop a small website to meet a client’s brief. In the process you will learn about the main factors that can affect website performance and user experience.

Cyber Security (Level 6)

This course focuses on the technologies, processes and practices designed to protect networks, computers, programs and data from attack, damage or unauthorized access.

It has three units:

  • Data Security – you will learn about data security in the real world and explore current practice in corporate data security. This includes legal and ethical considerations as well as practical methods to protect personal and corporate data.
  • Digital Forensics – focuses on forensically examining digital evidence. You will gain practical skills in identifying evidential sources across a range of digital devices and mediums. Using these sources of evidence, you will then analyse and interpret data, its relevancy to an inquiry under investigation and the subsequent reporting of that information.
  • Ethical Hacking – helps you to develop a competent understanding of tools and techniques used by malicious and ethical hackers. By the end of this Unit you will have the ability to implement techniques and technologies used to defend systems from attack and evaluate the Scottish, UK and EU legislation and ethics of hacking.

How is Developer taught?

Glasgow Life works in partnership with Glasgow Clyde College to deliver the course as 3x3 hour online, tutor-led classes a week for 6 weeks.

Is Developer right for me?

Our Developer courses are designed for:

  • Beginners with no or limited prior experience
  • People considering a future in the digital sector
  • People considering a career change
  • People with historical experience who want to update their skills
  • People with a general interest who want to earn a qualification

Apply for Developer if you have either:

  • A qualification at SCQF level 4 or above in a related subject


  • Equivalent relevant skills in the use of standard IT systems and application software (e.g. word processing, spreadsheet, graphics, etc.).**

**Our free, online and part-time GCL Basic Level Digital course in PC Passport (SCQF level 4) is designed to help you prepare for GCL Developer if you don’t already have the equivalent level of previous skills/experience.

Glasgow Code Learning: Developer

Glasgow Code Learning: Digital (SCQF Level 5)

Application Form