This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

SCO 18/19: Chamayou plays Ravel Piano Concerto

Home What's on

SCO 18/19: Chamayou plays Ravel Piano Concerto


Book tickets

£31.00, £27.00, £22.00 and £17.00
Open to All
Booking fees applicable.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Friday 12 April 2019
7:30PM - 10:30PM

Priority booking for the 2018/19 Concert Season is now open for SCO subscribers (4 or more concerts).  

General Onsale 10th May 2018.

GINASTERA Variaciones Concertantes (21’)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G (23’)
BEETHOVEN Symphony No 4 (34’)

JOSEP PONS Conductor

So many wonderful soloists in this concert! Each of Ginastera’s 12 Variaciones puts different orchestral players in the spotlight, making a kind of kaleidoscopic spectacular. Then Bertrand Chamayou takes the stage for Ravel’s jazzy concerto. Ravel fell in love with jazz in the 1920s and fused it brilliantly with his own European heritage.

Chamayou is sparky, dazzlingly virtuosic, but thoughtful and sensitive too: the ideal soloist. After such a high-octane first half, Pons closes the evening with Beethoven’s lustrous Fourth Symphony.

Proudly sponsored by


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information