The John Muir Award

We are currently redeveloping our website.

You may experience some changes as a result.

Can't find the information you need? Please contact us.

The John Muir Award

John Muir

​This is a nationally recognised environmental award scheme which encourages people of all backgrounds and ages to take personal responsibility for wild places in a spirit of fun, adventure and exploration.

Launched in 1997, it is the educational initiative of wild land conservation charity, the John Muir Trust. Participants should show enthusiasm and commitment, and have an awareness about John Muir.
There are 3 levels of the award, encouraging progressive involvement.

Discovery Award (introductory level) minimum 4 days (or equivalent)

Explorer Award (intermediate level) minimum 8 days (or equivalent)

Conserver Award (advanced level) minimum 20 days (or equivalent) over 6 months


Click here to find out what's available in your local area!.


Welcome Visits
Glasgow Life Logo