Strathclyde Regional Council

We are currently redeveloping our website.

You may experience some changes as a result.

Can't find the information you need? Please contact us.



The Mitchell Library, North Street, Glasgow G3 7DN
0141 287 2910
Fax: 0141 226 8452

Strathclyde Regional Council

Photograph of the Glasgow Water Commissioners at Loch Katrine

​Strathclyde Regional Council was one of nine regional councils created by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 and came into operation in May 1975.  This council covered the whole of the former counties of Ayrshire, Bute, Dunbartonshire, Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire, almost all of Argyllshire, part of Stirlingshire and the whole of Glasgow City.  Strathclyde Regional Council inherited the powers and duties of the former county councils and Glasgow Corporation, including responsibility for schools and police.  Regional Councils were abolished in 1996.

The main functions of the Regional Council were:

  • Education
  • Social Work
  • Voters and Valuation Rolls
  • Police
  • Fire
  • Water
  • Sewerage
  • Transport
  • Consumer and Trading Standards

Many of the papers of Strathclyde Regional Council are held in our records management system and are not available for direct public access.  Please contact us if you wish to find out more information about using the records of Strathclyde Regional Council.


Glasgow Life Logo