This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Coronavirus (Covid-19) – Latest Information

Coronavirus - Latest Information
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: Mozart, Weber & Widmann

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: Mozart, Weber & Widmann

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: Mozart, Weber & Widmann

Tickets Glasgow

Book tickets

£13.00 (£16.00 on the door)
Under 14s should be accompanied by an adult
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 27 January 2022
2:00PM - 4:30PM

On general sale - 10am, Thursday 25th November 2021


MOZART :Divertimento K.136 (125a) (c.15 mins)

WEBER : Clarinet Quintet – chamber orchestra version (c.28 mins)

JÖRG WIDMANN : Fantasie for solo clarinet* (c.7 mins)

JÖRG WIDMANN : Free Pieces for chamber orchestra (c.25 mins)

Jörg Widmann : clarinet / director  

Afternoon concerts return to City Halls and the first is spearheaded by Artist in Residence, Jörg Widmann. Anyone who saw him with us in October 2021 will recall his extraordinary energy and dynamism, and once again he’s playing and conducting. The BBC SSO strings open with Mozart’s vivacious Divertimento (one of his so-called ‘Salzburg Symphonies’) before boosting the numbers in a performance of Weber’s bubbling quintet. Written when he was just 20, Widmann’s Fantasie demands mind-boggling technical skill and combines Romantic lyricism with touches of dance, klezmer and jazz. And to close, he directs the orchestra in a work that links a series of 10 short movements, each of which is inspired by a different type of sound phenomenon.

Venue notice

Please be aware that scaffolding is in place around the exterior of the building due to essential maintenance. However, the main entrance to City Halls remains accessible for customers. 

Venue Map


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ