This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2018/19: Shostakovich 10

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Shostakovich 10

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Shostakovich 10


Book tickets

£28.00, £23.50, £19.50 & £14.00
Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.
No Booking Fee.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 25 April 2019
7:30PM - 9:30PM

Season Ticket bookings available from 22/03/18
General Ticket bookings available 30/04/18

The Soviet authorities called Shostakovich’s Tenth Symphony an “optimistic tragedy”, and if that sounds confusing, it’s probably because they were as astonished – and conflicted – as the rest of us by this most troubled of modern masterpieces. A massive, defiant act of self-assertion in the face of official tyranny, it’s a monumental climax to a concert that begins with the primary-coloured sonorities and timeless Russian rituals of Stravinsky’s Symphonies of wind instruments and which also features Colin Currie, one of Scotland’s (and the world’s) finest percussionists in the Scottish Premiere of an arresting new concerto by Mark-Anthony Turnage: a heartfelt, typically uncompromising memorial to a musical friend whom Turnage describes as “quirky and volatile, with strong beliefs”.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room

Mark-Anthony Turnage in conversation with BBC Radio 3 presenter Kate Molleson.

Symphonies of wind instruments

Mark-Anthony Turnage
Percussion Concerto

Symphony No.10

Colin Currie percussion
Martyn Brabbins conductor

Concert ends at approx. 9.15pm


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information