This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2019/20: Dohnányi Symphony No.1

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2019/20: Dohnányi Symphony No.1

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2019/20: Dohnányi Symphony No.1


Book tickets

£28.00, £23.50, £19.50, £14.00
Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.
No Booking Fee.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 13 February 2020
7:30PM - 9:30PM

Season Ticket bookings available from 14/03/19
General Ticket bookings available 29/04/19

Tales from a dark century: Dohnányi is the missing link between 19th-century Vienna and the fiery modern sounds of his Hungarian compatriots Bartók and Kodály. His First Symphony is something of a passion for our Hungarian guest conductor Gergely Madaras; its opulence and emotion offer a telling contrast to the dark shadows and tense political drama of Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto, written as Stalin’s post-war repression reached its height. Setting the scene is a new suite from Elena Langer’s 2016 opera Figaro Gets a Divorce – which relocates Mozart’s characters to a chillingly modern world of repression, nationalism and political instability.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room
Composer Elena Langer introduces her Suite from Figaro Gets a Divorce.

Elena Langer
‘Figaro Gets a Divorce’ (Suite) (UK Premiere)
Violin Concerto No.1
Symphony No.1

Karen Gomyo violin
Gergely Madaras conductor

Concert ends at approx. 9.40pm


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information