This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

RSNO 2019/20 - Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No3

Home What's on

RSNO 2019/20 - Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No3

Home What's on

RSNO 2019/20 - Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No3


Book tickets

£38.00, £29.50, £24.50, £18.50 and £13.00
Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.
No Booking Fee.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Saturday 12 October 2019
7:30PM - 10:30PM

Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No3

Bax In the Faery Hills
Shostakovich Symphony No9
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No3

Thomas Søndergård Conductor

Vadym Kholodenko Piano

Royal Scottish National Orchestra

In Russia, they do everything on a grand scale, and music doesn’t get much grander than Rachmaninov’s Third Piano Concerto – the piece they call ‘the Everest of piano concertos’. It takes a special kind of pianist to do it justice, and in the prize-winning, young Ukrainian virtuoso Vadym Kholodenko we’ve got just that. First, though, Thomas Søndergård takes in the mysterious atmosphere of Ireland’s Faery Hills before unleashing Shostakovich’s most irreverent symphony: music so entertaining that the Soviets banned it.

Start saving when you book just five RSNO 19:20 Season concerts. Simply add five or more concerts to your basket and the discount will be applied automatically. Find full details here.

Book all eight Thomas Søndergård Season concerts and save 20%. Book the package here.


Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

2 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow, G2 3NY

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information