This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.


Coronavirus (Covid-19) – Latest Information

Coronavirus - Latest Information
NYOS Symphony Orchestra

NYOS Symphony Orchestra


NYOS Symphony Orchestra


Glasgow Concert Halls

Dates and times

Thursday 6 August 2020
7:30PM - 10:30PM

Unfortunately due to the constantly evolving coronavirus situation, this event has been cancelled. We will contact ticket holders directly as soon as possible.

Please do not contact the Box Office as patrons will automatically be refunded.

All ticket buyers will be eligible for a refund of the value of your ticket plus booking fee (if a booking fee applicable)

Our Tickets Glasgow Box Office will address this as follows-

  • If you paid online by Credit or Debit card your refund will be paid to your account.
  • If you paid by card using Chip & Pin our Box Office team will contact you directly.
  • If you paid by cash or cheque we will refund you by sending a cheque directly to your address.

Due to the overall volume of cancelled events and subsequent refunds to be processed, this may take a minimum of 10 days so we ask for understanding and patience while the team work through this for you as quickly as possible.

Statement from the board and staff of NYOS

After careful consideration and with great sadness, we have taken the decision to cancel all our summer courses and concerts due to the on-going situation with the COVID-19 outbreak. The health and well-being of all our students, staff, guest artists and conductors is our top priority and we do not wish to put anyone or their communities at further risk at this time.

As well as following guidance from the Scottish Government and our key funders, many of our venue and residential partners have been forced to cancel our bookings. This is the right choice at this difficult time, and while we are saddened that Scotland’s young musicians will lose out on an entire year of NYOS activity, it’s more important at this time that everyone stays healthy and safe.

Full refunds will be made in due course, and you will be contacted separately on this matter by the end of May. We look forward to the time when we can resume the musicmaking activities that we all love.

In the meantime, please enjoy our #nyosfromhome series, comprising short films from tutors and conductors with tips and advice for practising at home. We hope to offer something similar this summer, so please keep an eye on our social media channels for more information on this and for advice on how to stay musically active during this challenging time #nyosshares

Conductor: Jamie Phillips

This August NYOS Symphony Orchestra is delighted to welcome conductor Jamie Phillips to the podium for the first time. 

Jamie has been praised for his ability to breathe new life into well-established repertoire. He also has a strong commitment to contemporary and twentieth-century music, making him the ideal candidate to lead NYOS Symphony Orchestra through a vivid and virtuosic programme of music from the last 100 years, which includes Musgrave’s Memento Vitae – a ‘concerto in homage’ commissioned by BBC Scotland and the Saltire Society to commemorate the bicentennial of Beethoven’s birth – and Rachmaninov’s unapologetically nostalgic Symphonic Dances encapsulating both the composer’s love for the Russia he once knew and his lifelong fascination with ecclesiastical chants.


Thea Musgrave: Memento Vitae

Sergei Rachmaninov: Symphonic Dances

Concessions:  £13.20 - Seniors, Unemployed / £6.60 - Under 26s

Venue Map


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

More venue information