Bravery Medals

Discover all about the men and women who received awards for bravery from Glasgow Corporation and Strathclyde Regional Council.

What do I need to know before I start?

Try to find out:

  • name of the recipient
  • approximate date they received the medal


​What records can I find in The Mitchell: Glasgow City Archives?

Bravery medals were awarded by Glasgow Corporation from 1925 to 1975 and by Strathclyde Regional Council from 1975 to 1996.


We hold an index to recipients of the Glasgow Corporation Medal for Bravery and minutes of the Magistrates Committee at which the awards were made. These will give details on why the medals were awarded.


No register was kept of those awarded the Strathclyde Medal for Bravery. The Chief Constable of Strathclyde Police recommended persons for the medal and Strathclyde Regional Council’s Chief Executive’s department arranged for the production and engraving of the medals, the printing of citations and the ceremonies of conferment. We have compiled a list of those who were awarded the medal from 1975 to 1983, which although incomplete, is the best available from the surviving records. Unfortunately, no information survives on those conferred the medal from 1983 onwards.


​What records can I see online?

These records are not available online.


What records can I see elsewhere?

There are no other records held elsewhere.


What other resources will help me find information?

Local newspapers may give details of the award of the Bravery Medals as well as the stories behind why the medals were awarded. Special Collections hold local newspapers for Glasgow.



Glasgow City Archives

0141 287 2910

In this guide