This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2018/19: Hungarian Rhapsodies

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Hungarian Rhapsodies

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2018/19: Hungarian Rhapsodies


Book tickets

£28.00, £23.50, £19.50 & £14.00
Open to All
Please note that the Glasgow Life Box Office charges a fee of £1.50 on all telephone bookings and £1.00 on all online bookings. There will be a £1.00 charge if you wish your tickets posted to you.
0141 353 8000
Book here

Dates and times

Thursday 11 October 2018
7:30PM - 9:30PM

Season Ticket bookings available from 22/03/18
General Ticket bookings available 30/04/18

Amidst the creative ferment of turn-of-the-century Europe, the young composers of Hungary searched for their sound. And when they found it, there was an unmistakable tang of paprika. Dohnányi’s First Violin Concerto is a twilit fin-de-siècle romance from the world of Sándor Márai’s Embers, and it’s played by probably its greatest living champion. Zoltán Kodály, meanwhile, evokes the flying fiddles and Roma rhythms of his childhood village band with infectious glee. The young Hungarian conductor Gergely Madaras has a way of making this music catch fire – and then he looks east to Russia, and Alexander Borodin’s gloriously tuneful,  miniswashbuckler of a Second Symphony. Music to warm the blood and quicken the pulse.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room

Hungarian-born conductor Gergely Madaras introduces the works in tonight’s concert.

Violin Concerto No.1

Dances of Galánta

Symphony No.2

Barnabás Kelemen violin
Gergely Madaras conductor

Concert ends at approx. 9.20pm


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information