This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are giving consent to cookies being used. For information on cookies and how you can disable them visit our Privacy and Cookie Policy.

BBC SSO 2019/20: Opening Night - Mahler Symphony No.5

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2019/20: Opening Night - Mahler Symphony No.5

Home What's on

BBC SSO 2019/20: Opening Night - Mahler Symphony No.5


Book tickets

£29.50, £25.00, £21.00, £15.50 (includes booking fee)
Under 16s must be accompanied by an adult.
Booking fee of £1.50 included. Box Office Charges: £1.75 on all telephone bookings and £1.50 on all online bookings. There will be a £1.00 charge if you wish to have tickets posted.
0141 353 8000

Dates and times

Thursday 26 September 2019
7:30PM - 9:45PM

Season Ticket bookings available from 14/03/19
General Ticket bookings available 29/04/19

A lone trumpet sounds in the darkness and Gustav Mahler begins his great symphonic struggle from tragedy to triumph – by way of midnight storms, joyous horn-calls, and arguably the most tender love-letter ever written without words: the rapturous Adagietto. Here BBC SSO Chief Conductor Thomas Dausgaard pairs it with Bruch’s much-loved Violin Concerto – an ideal showcase for the “lovely freedom and sense of fantasy” of Norwegian violinist Henning Kraggerud. And to begin, discover the extraordinary soundworld of Chaya Czernowin. “Can you imagine making your ear into a huge microphone listening to an amalgam of noises like the noises inside one’s body?” she asks. This “large scale miniature” evokes exactly that.

Prelude: 6.45pm in the Recital Room
Thomas Dausgaard introduces the 2019/20 Season and tonight’s opening concert.

Chaya Czernowin
Once I blinked nothing was the same (UK Premiere)
Violin Concerto No.1
Symphony No.5

Henning Kraggerud violin
Thomas Dausgaard conductor

Concert ends at approx. 9.40pm


City Halls

Candleriggs, Glasgow, G1 1NQ

Open today 10:00am - 6:00pm

More venue information